T.A.P.O.R. KSP SimPit Oddyssey

T.A.P.O.R.

This is the first step in building my own KSP custom control rig.

While I am no stranger to electronics, I am not a professional and the closest thing I've done in terms of "code"

is a bit of HTML & Javascript back in the early 2000's and writing Macro's in Excel.

Not exactly applicable, but hopefully that experience assists with debugging.

I've got my prototype up & running with a few switches and LEDs embdded into a scrap of MDF.

The rectangular holes were done with a coping saw & tidied up with a chisel.

To make testing various things easier, I've wired up a basic shield, so that I can unplug my control panel quickly and transfer between the UNO & Leonardo.

Initial BOM

• A bunch of SPDT switches
  • Cheap 7 Segment LED modules
  • 1 x Arduino UNO
  • 1 x Adruino Leonardo
  • 1 x LCD shield
  • 20 x chrome LED bezels.

IMG_0391.JPG

As is plainly obvious in the first gif, it didn't work very well when trying to debug on my own.

8segLed.gif

As you can see in gif #2, that has now been fixed, thanks to this thread and AmeliaEatYaheart for the solution below.

output_rwboDL.gif

Note: these displays are wired serially and did not suffer from the overheating problem present in K4TEE and AmeliaEatYaheart's 7 Seg modules.

With some PM help from AmeliaEatyaHeart I managed to get my 7 Seg LED Displays and my controls working!

Here's the fix:

Tab: KSPIODemo10

#include <LedControl.h>

#define LEDClkPin 4
#define LEDChipSel 3
#define LEDDatain 2
//these pins were set up for an Arduino Uno, adjust as appropriate.

LedControl lc=LedControl(LEDDatain,LEDClkPin,LEDChipSel,2);//1==num of 8x8pixel arrays in line. can be up to 8.

void setup()
{ Serial.begin(38400);

[B]LedControl lc=LedControl(LEDDatain,LEDClkPin,LEDChipSel,2); //number of displays is the last variable, will be 1-8.
blankLEDscreens(); //initialise screen, and show display number examples.[/B]

initLEDS();
InitTxPackets();
controlsInit();

LEDSAllOff();
}