How to land airplane? Keep landing on water

Hello, I'm new to the KSP, tried to land my first airplane on the runway. But I keep failing on deacceleration before landing, thus landing on the water.

Though I could land on water without any loss, I want my plane to land on the runway, since I've heard that it gives more money back on the recovery.

How should I deaccelerate my plane? Thanks!

The biggest factor in landing difficulty is probably how slowly your plane can safely fly. What is your speed just as you cross over the runway? Adding more lifting surfaces will help you fly more slowly.

Once you're on the ground, you want to make sure that your landing gear has proper traction settings. I turn off the automatic traction control and set the sliders to about 1 or 2. The rear wheels should have a  higher setting than the front. Increasing the traction setting will allow the brakes to work better. You can then improve the braking even more by having your control surfaces produce downforce instead of lift. Not only does this increase brake effectiveness, but it creates drag to help slow you down. I tend to use deployed control surfaces instead of dedicated airbrakes when I can to save some weight. Just make sure that your plane doesn't flip over when doing this. Flipping can be a problem for very light aircraft with large control surfaces.

Adding to the post above by Empress Neptune.

For each design, just like in real life, learn how the plane behaves at different speeds. Find the lowest speed where you can maintain control and not lose altitude. Remember that speed. Typically that will be near your minimum take off speed so remember which speed you took off at.

Before take off, memorize the pitch angle of the nose (look at the nav ball). That is the angle where you will land on all wheels. A couple of degrees up from that is where the drag helps you slow down while letting you land on the main wheels.