rkarmark

The new Elkano challenge for 1.2+!

88 posts in this topic

On 16/4/2017 at 3:34 AM, qzgy said:

Thinking about doing this

yeZv7Es.jpg

Does the red route qualify? Or does it diverge too much from the equator? If not, I assume the purple qualifies, correct?

Correct 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kerbin Maritime Elcano Challenge completed in less than 2 days

All the story here, Pics and Vid

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, rkarmark said:

Correct 

So both routes are fine?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, qzgy said:

So both routes are fine?

No red is allowed. Blue is not

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
57 minutes ago, rkarmark said:

No red is allowed. Blue is not

What? Unless I seriously misread it, blue is a perfectly good polar circumnavigation. We've had lots of those.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, damerell said:

What? Unless I seriously misread it, blue is a perfectly good polar circumnavigation. We've had lots of those.

Oh whooops i forgot that just BOTH ARE ALLOWED 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 19/04/2017 at 8:37 PM, HamnavoePer said:

I'm about to start this challenge. my rover design is looking at something made with mk3 and a small scout rover, ISRU and the works.

Ok, Discovered That mk3 doesn't work, I have a rover now though

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Here's my take on the Elcano Challenge, with a circumnavigation of Minmus. I have KIS but I didn't use it here, and the only non-stock stuff on my rover are several DMagic Science (as it is a carreer science mission) and TACLS stuff containers. Make sure to click the images to have the descriptions.

Well, that was very fun!

Edited by MinimalMinmus
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm thinking of doing the challenge with this tank. Does towing a landing craft count as "same vehicle crossing land and water"?

 

LIZmzje.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Following @NotAnAimbot, is it okay if I launch the craft with pontoons that I detach for the land vehicle I am actually using?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so i think the rules need a refresh do you have any ideas?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

Started my journey. Decided to strap on some pontoons instead of towing a landing craft. The jet engines will be used for the short water phase and to assist slope/mountain climbing. Water speed is really bad at 9 m/s, but the length of the trip will only add more fun.

jQ3hI6y.png

Gonna make a thread when I got enough pics of the trip. I'm planning on following a path similar to Wook's in his circumnavigation thread.

 

 

Edited by NotAnAimbot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, NotAnAimbot said:

jQ3hI6y.png

 

 

Like the tank. Planning to do an elkano by train. (its going to be so slow... but I have a jet engine :P ) Different route though.  Only worry is sudden destruction of train and having to constantly send new ones.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now