Ignored user's topics still displaying

paulprogart

I have a user on ignore but am still seeing their created topics, which in this particular case pretty much completely defeats the purpose.  I expected that "ignore a user" would ignore everything from that user, unless I unchecked one of the boxes (which I did not).  Any chance this could be fixed?

On 2/19/2017 at 3:27 PM, paulprogart said:

Any chance this could be fixed?

I'm not an expert in the forum software (by which I mean I have not the slightest tiniest clue, so I could be completely off base here), but I imagine that this would be problematic.  If someone posts a topic, lots of people can post in that topic, not just the author of the original post.  So if the software hid the thread from the person you're ignoring, it would also have to hide potentially large numbers of posts from lots of other people, whom you aren't ignoring.

It may be that you, personally, would be fine with that... but the forum software has to make assumptions based on what all users want, and therefore I imagine it has to be fairly conservative about how it implements features like this.  Not every user would necessarily want to ignore hundreds of messages from hundreds of non-ignored users, just because the OP happened to be from an ignored one.

So (and this is just speculation, here) I would imagine this would be a difficult thing to do.

Thanks for replying, @Snark.  I guess I should have been clearer in my request.  I was primarily referring to hiding the user's topics from the list of topics when you click a forum to browse it, which is the primary way I view stuff here.  It seems pretty elementary to me that if I'm ignoring a user then I'm not going to want any topics of theirs showing up in that list.  (Especially because, on other less-well-policed forums, the feature would have great use to ignore spammers.)  The edgier cases I could certainly live with.