Procedural Engines?

NSEP

So first off, this is mainly focused on RSS/RO. And i do know that for most people, this kind of mod would ruin their gameplay, because the game might become too easy or something. But for people like me, who want to make fully fictional rockets, it might be a good thing. And of course, if you do not like it dont take it.

So my main idea goes like this:

-You can choose between different fuel types, Hypergolic/Cryogenic/Monopropellant/Etc and wich specific fuel.

-You can also choose between engine plumbing types.

-The Combustion Chamber, Nozzle and other parts can be changed in size with a Procedural Parts like mechanic.

-Another (maybe more simple) resizing alternative more like TweakScale.

-Combustion chamber pressure, thrust, ISP, and other things get calculated.

-The overall idea is simulair to the engine designer in Children of a Dead Earth

So what do you people think? I do not have any programming skills, but im still learning it. I hope one day i myself will make a mod like this. But if a mod like this already exist, please tell me.

Cheers! NSEP.

1 minute ago, Jas0n said:

That sounds like a cool idea. My question is that can the ISP be accurately calculated?

Yeah i think so. Thanks.

But i dont really know still got to figure it out.

I was thinking along the lines of a mod like this too, I am pretty sure there are formulas linking various aspects of an engine to it's thrust, ISP and so on. Would love to see it. Also, might be cool to have a mechanic, that an improperly designed engine overheats or explodes from excessive chamber pressure.

Another feature i would recommend is an R&D fee so that it's more realistic instead there being a custom engine for each rocket. 

The fee would depend on the specs of the engine and if it's a derivative or not.

5 hours ago, HorizonFulcrum said: