... Land on the Mun?

Okay so now that I've finally understood how to get to the Mun, my problem is landing. I can bring my ship down to the ground without issues but slowing down is confusing me. The lowest I can get is about 20m/s before I start rising again and have to cut my engines to lower down, usually resulting in either crashing or my capsule bouncing across the surface. What is the technique to removing the "bounce" from my landing and coming down smooth onto the surface?

Sounds like you still have horizontal velocity to kill. Try to keep your ship facing retrograde(the green/yellow marker with an X through it on your nav-ball). As you slow down it will move upwards. Once it is vertical, come down slow, and try to land at less than 5m/s.

I can totally relate to this issue, yesterday I started practicing landing on Kerbin before embarking on a journey to the Mun, and I have to say landing has to be by far the most difficult thing in the entire process

Im going to try this, thanks for the tip.

Sounds like you still have horizontal velocity to kill. Try to keep your ship facing retrograde(the green/yellow marker with an X through it on your nav-ball). As you slow down it will move upwards. Once it is vertical, come down slow, and try to land at less than 5m/s.

If you're having that much trouble fine-tuning the speed, maybe your engines are just too powerful for the weight of your lander? What does you ship look like (in screenshots)? Maybe you could get close to the speed you want with the main engine, and then use RCS bursts to fine-tune. You might also build your lander shorter and wider, in which case you can bounce a little and still land upright. But mostly I suspect that if you're going sideways 20m/s as you're about to touch down, you're waiting too long to cancel your horizontal velocity.