Orbital Refueling Depots

Johno

I first read about the idea of orbital refueling depots shortly after the Augustine commission presented its findings. Now, cards on the table - I\'m not a rocket scientist. I am a High School Science teacher, meaning I\'m scientifically literate; and I have a very basic understanding of orbital mechanics (which, incidentally, has been enormously augmented by my playing a certain space game involving insane alien astronauts! :) ).

That simple, straightforward understanding is enough that I appreciate the size of LEO space. It was originally also enough that I thought I understood the utter futility of parking a large amount of fuel in orbit for a future mission to rendezvous with. After all, unless the future mission happens by luck to be on the same trajectory and use the same fuel as has been stockpiled in the depot, it can\'t access the depot. Let\'s face it, there aren\'t that many possible destinations on particular orbital paths - a mission to Mars couldn\'t use a refueling depot set up to send something to Venus, etc. I\'d simply put the Commission\'s ideas down to having watched 'Armageddon' too many times.*

But I have noticed a data point which may well be significant. It\'s that I haven\'t seen a chorus of scientists screaming 'You are so stupid!' to this idea.

Now, this means one of the following:

1) The Commission are so far from understanding ANYTHING relating to the realities of space that the scientists don\'t believe their findings to be worth the paper they\'re written on. Since President Obama (for all his faults) appears to be a fairly clever bloke, surely he picked a commission which had scientists and engineers as well as bean counters, so I include this option only for completeness.

2) The scientists are intimidated into silence (conspiracy theories, don\'t you love \'em?).

3) The idea hasn\'t had enough publicity to arouse a serious response.