KS-71 Whitebird

Golakka

88rjI.png

CRAFT FILE IS NOW AVAILIBLE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE

Where to start?

Hardly gets off the launchpad, handles like a truck, struggles to 10k at about 160m/s

Once you get her to 100k? Holy crap, what a machine.

Maximum recorded atmospheric speed (30,000m) 4457m/s (just shy of 10,000 odd MPH)

20 minutes of fuel at max burn.

Immeasurable flight time at cruising throttle (5% @ 30,000m)

Crusing altitude of aprox 300,000m

Very smooth handiling at cruising altitude.

91hli.jpg

Head on view.

oqhTc.jpg

Top Down view

G8q1d.png

Cruising at altitude

Craft File

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=7HGAEFE6

Im new to making aircraft in KSP so any hints are welcome :)

Guest GroundHOG-2010

First I would like to say welcome to the forums.

Second I would like to point out that your altitude must at about 30,000m, not 300,000m like you say. It would also be 10,000m or 10km.

Very nice recreation of the SR-71.

But why two ASAS modules, you only need one!

Assuming I haven\'t mistaken one of them for anothe part!

What are those black props? on the front of the engines?

Also you really should hide the fuel transfer pipes an struts under the wings...

Any chance of releasing the craft file?

But why two ASAS modules, you only need one!

Assuming I haven\'t mistaken one of them for anothe part!

There\'s actually four (Explained below).

What are those black props? on the front of the engines?

Yawmaster ASAS modules.

Also you really should hide the fuel transfer pipes an struts under the wings...

The struts could also be placed in such a way that wing stability is almost unaffected at all (When compared to the current placement), by placing them from the edge of the engines onto the corner of the wing surface going inward.

Gonna do some tweaks to the airframe then ill upload at about 16:00 GMT

It is a lovely craft, you created.

An the real SR-71... Well words to describe it. 8) :o