KSP .23 VAB "stealth crashes" game

Good afternoon, newbie here. I am running the latest non-Steam release of KSP .23 on my late 2011 13 inch MBP running Lion 10.7.5 and I seem the be having problems with connecting certain parts together in the VAB, but the manner in which the game crashes (freezes or hangs) doesn't generate a proper error log. I think I may have narrowed it down to connecting the 1-m aerodynamic nosecone to an Advanced SAS unit while there are connecting struts in the way with radial symmetry is turned on - it's hard to remember if I had it turned on prior to placing the cone on top of the SAS unit, or if I had symmetry turned off and turned it on to place the part on my 4 radial lander motors. My game "beachballs" and will not let me tab back over to the KSP window once I have tabbed away from it, and there is no crash report that comes up.

I'm running vanilla KSP, no add-ons or mods. It's been 15 minutes since I tabbed out of the game to the Finder and my laptop is still running in fast-fan mode and will still not let me back into the game unless I tell it to force quit.

*UPDATE* - I have determined if the nosecone is set to symmetry mode first and then placed on the SAS unit (or other part), it doesn't cause the crash, even if I switch over to non-symmetry and back again. The problem only seems to occur when I am in the VAB and attempt to put the nose cone on top of any other part that happens to be in symmetry mode(or in the latest case, accidentally matching up to the bottom of a fuel tank) and have the selected part I'm trying to place be in non-symmetry mode.

TL/DR -

* Macbook Pro 13" Late 2011 model - OS X Lion, Intel HD Graphics 3000 GPU

* Non-Steam KSP client with clean install

What happens: In VAB: hen placing 1-m aerodynamic nose cone that is in non-symmetry mode onto a fuel tank or object that's in symmetry mode, and then switching the nose cone to symmetry mode, the game hangs indefinitely.

How to reproduce: