Trouble Getting Into Mun Orbit or Mun Landing

I can get close enough to the moon that my trajectory changes to one that I pass by the moon as it slingshots me into deep space. I am having major trouble actually being able to get close enough for a landing attempt or even able to get into its orbit.

Ive tried watching videos and looking through the forums but just cant seem to figure out what to do or if im doing something wrong. Currently my plan of action is as such:

1- Launch rocket straight up till about 15k meters.

2- Start to turn to the 90, staying on 1 plane, and lvl out at about 100k ALT

3- Circularize orbit and then get the trajectory to meet up to the moons estimated position

4- Get close enough to the moon that it switches my trajectory. Usually I am coming up behind the Mun.

5- No idea! No clue as to what to do now.\

6- Get lost in space... Fail!

By trade I am no space expert and so I am new to all this. I am looking for what steps I should be taking so that STEP 5 gets me closer to the moons orbit instead of slingshoting me into deep space.

Can anyone give me some pointers or instructions of what my next step or 2 should be? I have seriously made it close to the moon about 6 times now. All attempts resulted in being lost in space..

I am not entirely sure about what all these rocket science terms such as retrograde etc.. So if you do decide to help me, please be as detailed in what I should actual do as possible.

Please help fellow Kerbalnaughts!

WELLLLLL..... Erm this is a problem I have a lot, but from what I understand it\'s trajectory if you hit it from one angle it\'ll send you straight to the Mun. If you hit it from ANOTHER however it puts you into an escape trajectory and you will have to correct it. I hope this kind of helps.......