Simple/Realistic rocket construction

So far constructing realistic (Note: Not with 30 million boosters at the bottom) has turned up nothing of value. You seemingly cant make it in such a way that it has enough power to fully escape the Kearths gravitational pull.

For example...

This elegant yet simple and lightweight design gets to a certain height before it starts to flip uncontrollably. Even with the S.A.S modules activated and the 'D' key held down it just cant go any higher.

I'm no rocket scientist but surely having 10 boosters all jammed around a single booster held together with one small decoupler can't be stable enough to get off the ground, yet it seems it's the only design which can actually make it out of the Kearth's gravitational pull.

Is there anyone here who has constructed a realistic looking rocket that has proved succesfull?

My best rockets have been relatively realistic ones. Real rockets have larger fuel tanks and larger/more engines, denser fuels/solid boosters on the earlier stages, and stack together identical boosters for a first stage that can lift more mass, and it's a formula that seems to translate well into Kerbal Space Program.

You've got a first stage that's just a big hydrogen fuel tank and engines (or that's what they look like, I've no idea if their mass and thrust are set sanely for it) with a single solid motor on top...nobody builds rockets like this.

As I said, I know barely a thing about rockets in any way.

So all I've got here is what I understand from common sense.

So if I strap two solid boosters on the sides for stage one, use the main liquid fuel engine for the rest of the flight once they run out of fuel?

If you could post a simple design and I'll learn from that :)

Off the cuff I'd point to my Goldberg2, it even has a