Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 106

Thread: [0.17] Crew-able empty pods 0.3.1

  1. #1

    [0.17] Crew-able empty pods 0.3.1

    3 Kerbals stranded on Mun 8)

    You want to rescue them, but your standard command pod can only fit 2 (if you emptied those seats while on Kerbin!)

    Well, there's a solution...

    Description
    The standard command pods, CFG edited to become a strut and available in the Crew tab on the VAB.

    They're normal parts that you place on your rocket, but you can enter them just like the command pod.





    Disclaimer or something like that
    I take absolutely no credit for the models, textures or kerbal lifes saved. That's Squad's work.
    I just changed some words on a textfile, and uploaded the entire part folder so it's easier to install.

    Changelog
    0.3.1 patch - Fixed stuff for 0.17, IVAs and kerbal portraits work.
    0.3 - Added empty versions of the 1m command pod, the mk2 cockpit and the mk3 cockpit.
    0.2 - Theoretically fixed bug in Kerbal portraits.
    0.1 - Initial release

    Download


    1. Unzip the Emptypods.7z and place the 4 folders inside the Parts folder.
    2. Unzip the podsfix.zip and copy its folders in the parts folder. Make sure to click Merge All and Replace All, so essentially you update the old cfgs.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Pablock; 24th September 2012 at 16:50.

  2. #2

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod

    Uhh weird glitch? when there are empty pods on your ship this happens.

    Look at there faces.
    My Youtube
    http://www.youtube.com/user/cooly2000mmmdesk

    -Third Human, Third Kerbal, Third Lugia, Fully Insane-

  3. #3

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod

    Well, thanks for bringing that up. Just tested it
    Quick guess is that the custom strutified command pod internally links to the same 'internal model' as the main command pod.
    I don\'t know if I can fix it without a dll. As I said, this kind of multiple pod thingy is not supported in the main game, I think NovaSilisko was coding it, but it didn\'t make it to 0.16.

    If you use the 1m pod as the main one this glitch doesn\'t happen though, that\'s why I didn\'t notice it while using my munar-rescue-lander.
    I\'ll investigate.


    Fixed and reuploaded
    Removed the empty command pod internal space and crew portraits, while retaining crew holding capabilities. (given the bug with 4+ portraits, they were unnecessary)

  4. #4
    Renegade Modder Taverius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Venice, Italy
    Posts
    367

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Can you do the same with the Mk.3 cockpit? I have a pilot in need of a rescue.

  5. #5
    Spacecraft Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    223

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Our first step to a dedicating passenger module for rescue operations. I\'m looking forward to it.

  6. #6
    Sr. Spacecraft Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    274

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    That\'s a good module! But it looks like this pod can\'t control ship after separation from the main rocket. Is it fixable?

  7. #7
    Sr. Spacecraft Engineer Melfice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    303

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Shuttle View Post
    That\'s a good module! But it looks like this pod can\'t control ship after separation from the main rocket. Is it fixable?
    It\'s not a pod. It\'s just a part that happens to hold Kerbals, which was made from a pod.

  8. #8
    Sr. Spacecraft Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    274

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Melfice View Post
    It\'s not a pod. It\'s just a part that happens to hold Kerbals, which was made from a pod.
    I understand but is it possible to add such functionality with a plugin or mod? Some people made a crewtank that can control carts ;)

  9. #9
    Sr. Spacecraft Engineer Melfice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    303

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Possibly, but then... is this the original goal of this mod?
    You speak of 'fixing', when there might not be anything 'broken'. That\'s where my misunderstanding came from.

  10. #10
    Rocketry Enthusiast KingAirDriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Posts
    97

    Re: [0.16] Empty command pod 0.2

    Any idea why I\'m prompted for a password when I try to extract this to my KSP folder??? Never had a problem with any other part extractions before.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •