[WIP][RSS/RO] Alternate Apollo

mcdouble

This is a parts mod that resulted from me wanting some variation in an RP-0 playthrough but I thought maybe some others could get some use out of it. It's my first attempt at modding though so there will not be any great speed or quality. :P

The basic idea is to provide an alternate manned spacecraft to the historical craft available in RP-0 to give more options in alternate history scenarios. In reality the American program was based heavily around landing on the  moon and produced the Gemini spacecraft, which was essentially just a practice vehicle until Apollo was ready, and then Apollo, a very large spacecraft initially designed to land directly on the moon in a direct ascent mission. So if you want to play a different version of history, perhaps one where there wasn't a rush to the moon and instead there was a focus on space stations in LEO, often the historical craft don't make a whole lot of sense.

Anyway I've based the idea on the General Electric D-2 spacecraft, which was a proposal in 1960/1961 for an American manned spacecraft but which was passed over in favour of the historical Apollo CSM. It has a very similar design to the Soyuz with a detachable "mission module" on top of the descent module and could have been used for a wide range of missions.dk7He.jpg

So far I've done the descent module, mission module, parachutes and heatshield decoupler. Left to do is the propulsion/service module, engines and RCS, solar panels and launch escape system. Then I hope to expand on it by making a "block 2" mission module which has docking capability, some space station parts like an American version of Salyut and things like that. Also, I only really made this with 1.3.1 RSS/RO in mind, I tested with stock 1.4.2 and it seemed to work but I guess the scale and masses etc would be out of wack, if that's easy to fix I'll give it a go.

XHzd50R.png

7SjYTDs.png

k3wFSWl.png