Make hard mode be less grind mode and more challenge mode ?

Hello everyone. It's my first time posting on the forums even though I've been playing the game since alpha but I really wanted to talk about this.

I've started a new game for 1.0 and I really enjoy it so far, but I find hard mode to be a bit too grindy. I think it would be more enjoyable if instead of nerfing the incomes hard mode would nerf the rocket parts.

Wouldn't it be better if parts were a little heavier, engines a little less efficient and/or powerful, atmospheric drags a little more powerful and parts a little less resistant to reentry ?

What I'm looking for when I play hard mode is not to have to do 10 easy missions instead of 1 to get the same amount of cash/science but rather to have to do 1 really difficult mission that would get me that cash/science.

Maybe we could even get greater rewards than in normal mode because there would be a higher failure rate on our flights.

What do you think about it ?

• 2 weeks later...

Like youself, I also have been playing ksp for quite a while. And I must say, I think hard mode is brilliant, just because it's such a challenge. I have started from scratch for the fifth time now. Went bankrupt, killed all pilots, had all pilots stuck in space somewhere, and other stupid things. I just like the fact that when you find out you did something really stupid with te design there's no turning back. Live with it. Design rockets with escape systems like spare parachutes. Try to think of what could go wrong in stead of actually having it go wrong and simply reverting to the design table.

I've given up a couple times already, only to start again the next day determined to be smarter this time.