Does building replicas affect your creativity?

ouion

Building replicas of real spacecrafts feels its like copying and restrain you to realistic crafts instead of using your mind to build your own ships. So do anyone has this feeling and is replicas of spacecrafts better in performance than your own rockets.:P

Different kinds of creativity. Building replicas involves using a finite series of parts to make something as close as possible to a real life example, it takes some cleverness and creativity to make the parts look like something they're not. Building from scratch is painting on a blank canvas, where the outcome is something from your own imagination.

Speaking as a replica builder, I like to think it helps me be more creative. Thinking about what a part is and then using it in a way it was never supposed to be lets you make designs that aren't skin-deep. It does definitely take more parts, but a lot of what I build isn't supposed to be used in a career mode save.

Building replicas of real spacecrafts feels its like copying and restrain you to realistic crafts instead of using your mind to build your own ships. So do anyone has this feeling and is replicas of spacecrafts better in performance than your own rockets.:P

"Using mechjeb feels like it's using a cheat and restrains you to building crafts instead of using your skills to pilot your own ships. So does anyone have this feeling and is the autopilot better than your own piloting skills"

Please don't do this.

It's a good question. One I have thought about before. I like making replicas because I get more pleasure flying something that looks 'real'. It takes a lot of imagination to use parts in new ways. And skill to put together. The performance of the rocket depends on what replica you are making. You cannot compare a replicas performance with that of a 'free' built craft.