How do you change your orbit?

Okay, so a the Kerbal Space Program Challenge requires you to fly in a 150km orbit (+/- 250m). Now, I have boosted into circular orbits before; mostly by luck, it should be said. But the process of circularising my orbit has been really long and painful, and I'm obviously doing something wrong here.

So let's put it out there. Simply put, assuming you have a spacecraft with ample propellant, what is a quick and simple way from going from an initial, highly eccentric orbit to a circular orbit of a specific altitude (in this case 150km)?

I know the theory of a Hoffman transfer, I can even draw one on a whiteboard; so I'm not looking for theory. I'm more interested in 'Now turn so your nose is 45 degrees above the horizon, and burn until your speed is . . .' type of instructions.

Thanks in advance!

I'm no rocket scientist, but if you understand the Hoffman transfer and read the wiki on orbiting it says it all IMHO.

If you're going from high to low you need to burn retrograde/opposite direction when you're at the apokee of the high orbit, you can use the calc or look up the wiki chart for the target speed. Then see if your perikee hits the target hight and make adjustment prograde/retrograde if necessary. If all goes well you have a transferred to a lower circular orbit.

So in sum, high circular orbit --> burn to get elliptical orbit with target perikee --> burn perikee to adjust for circular.

Do a prograde/forward burn if you're transferring to higher orbit.

Did this newbie explain well?

EDIT: Oh an check the video by Artreides below, he shoes how to transfer orbits as well.

EDIT2: Apologies to the rocket scientists, where I said 'Hoffman' I meant 'Hohmann'. :P

First off, download the KSP Orbital Calculator

Then, haul ass into space and get into an orbit. Doesn't matter how it looks. Bring fuel. And liquid fueled engines. SRB's won't do you much good up here.