How can I reenter safely

Hello,

I'm new to KSP and still trying to learn it. I'm not able to reenter safely, my parachute gets destroyed by aero forces and heat since I'm hitting the ground at 300m/s. Also while I'm reentering, the parachute icon is red. How can reenter safely without destroying my parachute and how can I slow down at reentry? Thanks. Edited by hsnmck
Change the prefix to answered

What are you trying to re-enter with? From what orbit?

The usual advice for a pod returning from low Kerbin orbit is to set a periapsis of about 30km. You need the velocity to drop to around 250-260m/s before it's safe to pop the chutes. The early game is quite dangerous because it can be hard to get things to slow down. It's been reported that a mk1 pod with a heatshield is too heavy and aerodynamic to slow down effectively unless you reduce the amount of ablator during ship design. My current design carries about 30 instead of 200.

[quote name='hsnmck']Hello,

I'm new to KSP and still trying to learn it. I'm not able to reenter safely, my parachute gets destroyed by aero forces and heat since I'm hitting the ground at 300m/s. Also while I'm reentering, the parachute icon is red. How can reenter safely without destroying my parachute and how can I slow down at reentry? Thanks.[/QUOTE]

Are you coming in from Mun, interplanetary, or what?

Generally, the further you are coming in from, the higher your relative velocity to Kerbin. Dropping from Kerbin orbit is relatively slow, coming from Mun is faster, transferring from Jool or Moho is hella-fast. The faster you are, the harder it is.

First: get AIRBRAKES. Put four of them on your capsule. If you don't have it yet, do lots of science close to Kerbin and Mun so you can get it.

If you have any fuel left, burn retrograde and slow yourself down before you get < 60km.

Use heatshields. And turn ON the airbrakes. Put lots of external things in equipment bays so they don't explode, or on top of the capsule.