Trailer mode for wheels

This thought applies mainly to pulling or pushing wheeled things with a 'tractor' that is attached my a free pivoting claw.

Simply an option that allows any steerable wheels to pivot in relation to the towing vehicle.  If find I struggle to get any towed things to follow and play nice.  

@Overland how do you do it on your trains?

The train is a complicated apparatus to engineer inside KSP.   I am new to building trains but can offer some advice.

The LY-10 small landing gear seem to work best.   Wheels on the train engine should have unlocked steering with the midsection wheels toggled inverted.  This helps to bend the vessel and initiate a turn.

The trailing car wheels should have locked steering. 

The hitch point should not be too solid and I use the docking port junior to allow for some flexibility.

Make certain that the train travels in a straight line without any control inputs.  This took a lot of tedious work and patience for my train build.  The train in the video still will drift slightly to the left side.

With the jet engines at the very front of the train it was like pulling cooked spaghetti instead of trying to push it and this improved stability at speeds above 10 m/s..

Even though it was complicated and fist shaking this train build was satisfying to drive when it all worked out. 

Also I am very hyped to try out the new wheel mechanics that are coming in the 1.1 update. 

Edit:

There are some very intelligent notions put forth in the response to this question:

Without that helpful advice my vehicle would have been on the scrap pile.

Edited by MoeslyArmlis

I typically use a Stayputnik probe core as a make shift ball hitch. Then you build a "cap" to sit on top of it with wheels facing inwards towards it. Sort of a poor mans ball bearing.

Makes for a very nice and authentic trailer, that behaves as you would expect.

However I've yet to find a practical use for trailers in general.