Journal of Jebediah Kerman. (Missions as told by a Kerbal.)

Kerbinchaser

“The sky is the limit only for those who aren't afraid to fly!” 
― Bob BelloSci-Fi Almanac, 2010

August 8th:

Well, the goverment has called me up and asked me to be one of the first Kerbals to join the Kerbonaut team. After all, I was an Air Force pilot, so I guess I would be a candidate. Just as I was finishing my packing, a big black limousine pulled up to my apartment, and a man wearing a government ID stepped out of the vehicle. I started putting all my luggage in the hallway when the elevator door opened and out stepped... Gene Kerman. He shook my hand vigorously, and helped me take my gear to the elevator.

As we descended the twelve floors to the ground, Gene handed me the profiles of the 3 other Kerbonauts who had been chosen.

Bob Kerman, Scientist.

Bill Kerman, Engineer.

And Valentina Kerman, Pilot.

I was stunned at the last name in the list. Val... Val... Yes! Valentina Kerman! She was in the Air Force with me. She had risen to the rank of Senior Airman, before the horrible accident that claimed the life of her co-pilot. After the trauma, she left the Air Force to recover.

As Gene led me to the limo, I saw the silhouette of another man sitting in the back of the vehicle. When I stepped into the car, the world famous scientist Wherner Von Kerman greeted me as I sat down and settled in for the ride. 

As we approached the airport, Gene and Wherner clinked glasses and we toasted to my safety and the further discovery of space. 

A government official saluted me as we boarded Gene's two engine jet. A few hours later, Gene told me that we were flying over the last stretch of open land before the large mountain range that lead to the KSC.

I felt the landing gear of the aircraft touch the runway, and I was greeted by another KSC staff member, who smiled and saluted just like the man at the airport. He guided me to a smaller vehicle that would take me to the Astronaut Complex.