Jump to content

SpaceX Discussion Thread


Skylon
 Share

Recommended Posts

Spoiler

  

15 hours ago, Nothalogh said:

Just realized what I don't like about those suits.
No pockets.

One more detail to be added - gazyrs.

Spoiler

scale_1200original.jpggazyri-svoimi-rukami.jpg

Originally it's a pipe for gunpowder to reload the gun when you're hanging from the cliff and hunting goats.
A battery of them is placed in narrow loops/pockets on chest, so you can do this with one empty hand.

Also used as containers for various small things and powders.

As a spaceman literally hangs from a cliff as well, it would be useful for various purposes.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Shuttle launch windows to reach the ISS were anywhere from 2.5 minutes to 10 minutes wide. This depends on how much fuel the vehicle has for trying to change their orbital parameters.

None of this "let's wait 30 minutes and see if the winds are better" stuff.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

21 minutes ago, mikegarrison said:

None of this "let's wait 30 minutes and see if the winds are better" stuff.

Cargo Dragon launches have all been instantaneous windows, I'm unsure about Crew Dragon, but I guess I expected it to be the same.

Yep, instantaneous launch window. So if the range is go, they go at 4:33 PM Eastern, else they try again May 30.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Gargamel said:

So guys, what are the chances of this thing going off on time?   I'm considering taking a vacation day to watch, but if it gets delayed....

I’m taking the day off too, if only because I’d already picked it months ago and they just happen to be launching. Hopefully. Personally, I think it’s gonna be a scrub, but the question is, would you rather have a day off for day off stuff that doesn’t involve a rocket launch, or miss possibly the biggest spaceflight event of the last ten years? ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you want to watch an launch don't go for an manned one as no go is much more likely because increased safety and downrange weather requirements. 
AN RTLS one or better an falcon heavy booster RTLS would be better as you also get landing or two. 
Added benefit that weather at the drone ship is not an issue for RTLS. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, VoidCosmos said:

Could someone please fetch a list of when exactly will the DM-2 launch will take place in different time zones? That would really helpful

No. It's not allowed. You can't know.

Edited by Wjolcz
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, VoidCosmos said:

Could someone please fetch a list of when exactly will the DM-2 launch will take place in different time zones? That would really helpful

10:33:33 HST (UTC-10) Hawaii

12:33:33 AKDT (UTC-8) Alaska

13:33:33 PDT (UTC-7) US Pacific

14:33:33 MDT (UTC-6) US Mountain

15:33:33 CDT (UTC-5) US Central

16:33:33 EDT (UTC-4) Launch Site, US East Coast

20:33:33 UTC

21:33:33 BST (UTC+1) UK

22:33:33 CEST (UTC+2) Central Europe, South Africa

23:33:33 MSK (UTC+3) Moscow

28th May 02:03:33 IST (UTC+5.5) India

28th May 04:33:33 CST/AWST (UTC+8) China, Australia Western

28th May 05:33:33 JST/ACST (UTC +9) Japan, Australia Central

28th May 06:33:33 AEST (UTC+10) Australia Eastern

 

I think that covers most of them.

Edited by RCgothic
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 5/24/2020 at 5:23 PM, tater said:

Would be interesting to see someone go all in on that MIT suit design (the snug fitting that uses compressive material instead of air pressure in the suit) with the bubble helmet.

Not useful for IVA though. 

I want to see an IVA suit which acts as the pressurized liner for a not-pressure-bearing exoskeleton EVA suit.

12 hours ago, tater said:

49934682271_fd6a31becc_o.jpg

 

Interesting that they have the rivets around where the starboard window ought to be, but they ended up not doing one.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...