Skylon

SpaceX Discussion Thread

Recommended Posts

Spoiler

  

15 hours ago, Nothalogh said:

Just realized what I don't like about those suits.
No pockets.

One more detail to be added - gazyrs.

Spoiler

scale_1200original.jpggazyri-svoimi-rukami.jpg

Originally it's a pipe for gunpowder to reload the gun when you're hanging from the cliff and hunting goats.
A battery of them is placed in narrow loops/pockets on chest, so you can do this with one empty hand.

Also used as containers for various small things and powders.

As a spaceman literally hangs from a cliff as well, it would be useful for various purposes.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This could be useful:

91EN9Ls5fzL._AC_SX425_.jpg

Space Batman look FTW :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like the tiles are cast around the attachments (which is what I was thinking).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So guys, what are the chances of this thing going off on time?   I'm considering taking a vacation day to watch, but if it gets delayed....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

60% chance of No Go for weather, everything else I'd say would be good. If it's scrubbed, the backup date is the 30th.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

what are the chances of this thing going off on time?

Guaranteed.

Just the time may be shifted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shuttle launch windows to reach the ISS were anywhere from 2.5 minutes to 10 minutes wide. This depends on how much fuel the vehicle has for trying to change their orbital parameters.

None of this "let's wait 30 minutes and see if the winds are better" stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, mikegarrison said:

None of this "let's wait 30 minutes and see if the winds are better" stuff.

Cargo Dragon launches have all been instantaneous windows, I'm unsure about Crew Dragon, but I guess I expected it to be the same.

Yep, instantaneous launch window. So if the range is go, they go at 4:33 PM Eastern, else they try again May 30.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Gargamel said:

So guys, what are the chances of this thing going off on time?   I'm considering taking a vacation day to watch, but if it gets delayed....

I’m taking the day off too, if only because I’d already picked it months ago and they just happen to be launching. Hopefully. Personally, I think it’s gonna be a scrub, but the question is, would you rather have a day off for day off stuff that doesn’t involve a rocket launch, or miss possibly the biggest spaceflight event of the last ten years? ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've also been thinking of taking the afternoon off.  At least if it's a scrub, the backup day is Saturday so it wouldn't be any additional time off..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you want to watch an launch don't go for an manned one as no go is much more likely because increased safety and downrange weather requirements. 
AN RTLS one or better an falcon heavy booster RTLS would be better as you also get landing or two. 
Added benefit that weather at the drone ship is not an issue for RTLS. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

49934682271_fd6a31becc_o.jpg

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

About the weather.

Spoiler

Did they draw a sticker with a red arrow pointing at the "SCE" which should be "to AUX" in case of problems?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could someone please fetch a list of when exactly will the DM-2 launch will take place in different time zones? That would really helpful

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, VoidCosmos said:

Could someone please fetch a list of when exactly will the DM-2 launch will take place in different time zones? That would really helpful

No. It's not allowed. You can't know.

Edited by Wjolcz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, VoidCosmos said:

Could someone please fetch a list of when exactly will the DM-2 launch will take place in different time zones? That would really helpful

10:33:33 HST (UTC-10) Hawaii

12:33:33 AKDT (UTC-8) Alaska

13:33:33 PDT (UTC-7) US Pacific

14:33:33 MDT (UTC-6) US Mountain

15:33:33 CDT (UTC-5) US Central

16:33:33 EDT (UTC-4) Launch Site, US East Coast

20:33:33 UTC

21:33:33 BST (UTC+1) UK

22:33:33 CEST (UTC+2) Central Europe, South Africa

23:33:33 MSK (UTC+3) Moscow

28th May 02:03:33 IST (UTC+5.5) India

28th May 04:33:33 CST/AWST (UTC+8) China, Australia Western

28th May 05:33:33 JST/ACST (UTC +9) Japan, Australia Central

28th May 06:33:33 AEST (UTC+10) Australia Eastern

 

I think that covers most of them.

Edited by RCgothic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/24/2020 at 5:23 PM, tater said:

Would be interesting to see someone go all in on that MIT suit design (the snug fitting that uses compressive material instead of air pressure in the suit) with the bubble helmet.

Not useful for IVA though. 

I want to see an IVA suit which acts as the pressurized liner for a not-pressure-bearing exoskeleton EVA suit.

12 hours ago, tater said:

49934682271_fd6a31becc_o.jpg

 

Interesting that they have the rivets around where the starboard window ought to be, but they ended up not doing one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Specifics:

 

Weather has improved:

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hope weather will remain good in the recovery area. It'd be a bit disappointing if SpaceX's first crewed flight had a booster landing failure due to poor weather.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.