Hi guys, I'm new to the game and I'm having this problem.

I'm trying to land a probe (using the first core, stayputnik?) on the mun but it is eventually occluded by the mun itself and I lose control over it. I thought the obvious: "let's place a satellite high on mun's orbit and relay the signal to control the landing probe".

That's what I did: my satellite is carrying the HG-5 relay antenna and is at a fairly high concentric orbit, around 2Mm.

Nice, now we get to the problem: when the landing probe (it is carrying no antenna) gets occluded by the mun, after losing contact with Kerbin it doesn't connect to the satellite to relay its signal. The satellite is on the same side of the mun as the probe and has full signal from Kerbin.

Any clues?

The HG-5 is an extremely weedy relay antenna, and it can only communicate with a built-in antenna from up to 158km away. If you want to relay to the probe, give it a proper antenna. See below for a tool to calculate these things:

Edited by voicey99

45 minutes ago, fabianovc said:

But since the built in antenna can communicate all the way with Kerbin while not occluded by the mun, it should be able to communicate with the relay in mun's orbit, shouldn't it?

After all, it is MUCH closer.

Yes, but it's also MUCH weaker.  :P

The HG-5 has a power of 2M.  Your tracking station back on Kerbin has a power of 2G, even if it's only level 1-- which is literally a thousand times more powerful.

So yes, it's "MUCH" closer... but it's not 1000 times closer.  The tracking station is so much more powerful than the HG-5 that it makes a huge difference.

28 minutes ago, fabianovc said:

Yeah, I know, but it is in range. That's the weird part.

But it's not in range.  Go back and look what @voicey99 said above, that's your problem right there: