Suggested layout of Unity?

micha

Just trying to gauge Best Practices while I'm upgrading the Unity projects for a large-ish mod I'm maintaining (I'm not very experienced with Unity).

Do people use a single Unity project into which they put all of their parts (albeit in different scenes)?

Or do people use one Unity project per part?

Or something entirely different?

The current layout is a bit of a mish-mash, some parts are grouped into a single Unity Project, others are in their own so I'm trying to see what the best way forward is.

As far as I can see:

Keeping each part (or small set of related parts) in separate projects:

• Pros:
    • Fast loading
    • allows multiple people to work on the project as long as they don't work on the same parts
    • no need to worry about global namespace
  • Cons:
    • Need to maintain Unity project settings and add-ons and plugins (such as PartTools) separately for each project, taking up additional space in the repository and bigger chance for misconfiguration

Maintaining a single Unity project (and separating parts into suitable directories):

• Pros:
    • A single unity project
    • easy to double-check global settings (eg, "Visible Metafiles" or the PartTools "GameData")
    • single copy of plug-ins/addons
    • potential for shared assets
  • Cons:
    • Slow loading
    • more chance for conflicts if multiple people are working on the project
    • more care needed to keep namespace "clean" (ie, must name all assets uniquely)

What do people think?

Making separate projects for each part seems like a nightmare for anything more than a handful of parts. Doing any work would required constantly opening new instances of Unity to work on a different part. And each project takes up a fair amount of space just by itself, several 100 MB I think.