2nd KSP install

Now another dummy question ... I want to try some graphics mods but many forum discussions suggest installing a second, clean copy of KSP and try the mods on this 2nd install before putting them on the normal install - I'm using the Steam KSP, so (a) how do I install KSP again, and (b) once I've installed it, how do I launch it (I assume my desktop icon will only launch my current Steam install) - I'm not a computer scientist, I'm just trying to have some fun with KSP!

Just now, Garthog said:

Now another dummy question ... I want to try some graphics mods but many forum discussions suggest installing a second, clean copy of KSP and try the mods on this 2nd install before putting them on the normal install - I'm using the Steam KSP, so (a) how do I install KSP again, and (b) once I've installed it, how do I launch it (I assume my desktop icon will only launch my current Steam install) - I'm not a computer scientist, I'm just trying to have some fun with KSP!

Steam KSP is found in:

c:\program files(x86)\steam\steam apps\common

There you will find a folder called Kerbal Space Program that contains the entire game.  Simply copy this folder and all its sub-folders to any other location on your computer.   Once in the new location, go into the root folder and delete all files with "steam" in the name (should be 3, a dll and a few others).  These cause trouble if you leave them.  Then just make a desktop shortcut for either the 32-bit or 64-bit KSP executable file and you're good to go.

You can also simply copy the GameData folder instead of the entire install. 

Keep one stock, with just the Squad folder in it.  Put your mods in the other one(with the Squad folder!)

Keep them names GameDataStock and GameDataModded, or however you would need.  Whichever one you want to play, rename to GameData.

So if you're playing stock, your two folders would be GameData and GameDataModded

If you're playing modded, you would have GameData and GameDataStock.