Physics simulations in python

I've been working with a group of people on some model rocketry projects, and I wanted to try simulating retro-propulsive landing with solid engines. As far as I can tell, none of the already available rocket sims have enough control over the design of the rocket (multiple engines, actuators) or allow computer control of the rocket throughout the simulation. While KSP can do this, it doesn't work at small scales, plus I think this would be a fun challenge. Could anyone direct me to some beginner references for physics simulation with computers? I'm familiar with python and javascript, but can work from tutorials designed for other languages. Thanks!

I am not a programmer but i do some hobby tinkering with a similar thing (for private use ;-)). Unfortunately i have no clue of Python but some understanding of C/C++, but i am not far enough to show something off.

It is no witchcraft; seen from a very high level, in principle you 1 setup 2 loop 3 cleanup.

1 On program startup for every object you have, you setup the starting parameters. Lets assume a tank full of stuff and an engine consuming stuff. Then you enter the loop.

2 in the loop (fixed or variable doesn't matter), you simply calculate the deltaTime between the current and the last loop run, and apply that to your formulas for engine consumption, tank content, center of gravity, velocity, acceleration, whatever. The new values are used at the next loop run.

3 well, yeah. Cleanup after the loop has finished by user interaction (escape or so).

Defining your objects cleverly is crucial, and the technical challenges lie in the arrangement of objects, tasks and scheduling, memory management (in Python not that important), event handling etc.