Making a space material scoop

So since i'm new to modding and i really want to get a hang of it, i want to understand how everything works. For now i've challenged myself to make a space scoop. A part, that collects a fuel while floating in space (basically out of nothing). 

What would be the easiest way of making it?

I haven't learned to make a part animate except for engine heat/throttle, and it's been quite some time since I did even that so I'm no use to anyone with animation, but for ideas for how the scoop should look, I went with a simple design based on a basktball hoop or laundry basket. And I gave it the same harvester module as in the stock drill but changed the harvester type (from 1) to 3. And I know how to configure resource bands in space so here's a scoop I made, picking up Helium3 in low Jool orbit and showing that there's Helium3 in Jool's atmosphere (through instances of the surface scanner's scanner module with resource types 2 and 3).

e4pxM3A.jpg

Lookup "bussard scoop" and you'll see many examples revolving around the idea of a conical frame with extreme outer radius and a framework of concentric rings and supporting beams between the rings. In space where ambient pressure is usually practically zero, useful particles are usually incredibly few and incredibly sparse (except for maybe Hydrogen and Helium?) which force this idea for the scoop shape as to provide enough surface area to capture useful amounts of particles at a given time.

Edited by JadeOfMaar

1 hour ago, JadeOfMaar said: