Apollo 11 50th Anniversary

GceSGgw.jpg

A replica that I've been working on for over 3 years now, the title and images pretty much explain themselves. 3 years of working on this project on and off due to frustrations with the craft and a little thing called "life", it is ready to be released, and at an appropriate time, too. Since I'm sure no one wants to hear me ramble on, lets get to it.

Features

Historic Paint Scheme done by fuel cells (don't want to talk about it)

Accurate stages (S-IC, S-II, S-IVB)

Realistic Lunar Module and Command Module

Action Groups

AG 1. LES Jettison

AG 2. Toggle CSM fuel cells

AG 3. Toggle CSM high-gain antenna

Flight Manual

1. Before heading to the launchpad, ensure that there are 3 kerbals in the first three Mk1 Command Pods by checking the crew tab
  2. At launchpad, click "control from here" on the docking port of the CM (best done by aiming camera on the fairing base and zooming in, then resetting camera)
  3. Launch! The first stage will get you to a velocity of ~1,100 m/s before cutoff, so start your gravity turn at about 90 m/s and continue to turn (DO NOT USE EXCESSIVE PITCH/YAW/ROLL, or risk the Saturn V blowing up, but you shouldn't need to do that many attitude adjustments after launching
  4. After staging the first stage (don't panic if there are explosions near the engine base, just fuel cells overheating) and allowing for them to distance themselves, stage the second stage engines and go pro-grade, then stage the interstage (make sure to do this or the rocket may explode) I recommend that you enable unbreakable joints and allow part-clipping in the cheat menu, but this may be unnecessary, test at your own discretion. Press AG 1 to discard the LES
  5. Use the second stage to finish your orbit insertion (between 80km and 110km is good) and stage to the third stage
  6. Stage the S-IVB ullage motors, Use this stage for the munar injection, you should have plenty of fuel and room for error