Mac or Windows?

This is entirely based on use case.  So all in all it's going to depend on what "other things" are.  What do you do with your computer, other than play KSP?

I use Linux myself.  Never had any interest in Mac and Windows and I do not get along anymore.  For what I do with my computer, it works just fine.  But that may not be the case for you.

I'm a long-time desktop tech that fixed everything, but specialized in Apple support.

The answer: It depends on what you need to do.

Brand-name PCs often have limited upgrade options or fight what upgrades you add, beyond memory and storage. If your box is over 3 years old, I'd recommend a new buy.

If you want to game, game, game, a PC with Windows is the better choice. Most games will always be available for this platform, and Windows provide the best general integration of graphics software support, hardware diversity (especially if the PC is self-built) and accessories. You can build a PC that rivals a NASA orbital calculations supercomputer if you have the cash.

If you're in school, or if you do graphics or animation work, don't want to fight your computer too often but also occasionally game, you can't go wrong with a MacBook Pro 15-inch.

This laptop is for professional guys with a need for superior graphics support. It has a Radeon video chip and better horsepower. You can also consider an iMac with Radeon support. Do NOT choose the 13-in MacBook Pro, any MacBook Air or any Mac without a Radeon chip. Gaming long-term will work these machines a bit too hard.