Spacecraft Names

Marsboo

I recently started playing a new career mode game and I was thinking about mission names. What do you name your missions?

I name them after characters in mythology. For example, I just launched the fourth spacecraft in the Aphrodite program. So I was wondering what other KSP players name their missions. I know some use very simple names (Mun Lander 1), and that makes sense but I was wondering what sort of themes the other group uses. Like do you name your missions after fictional characters in a particular book or whatever?

I'm very curious to know.

I name my ships by basic design, rather than mission.  Birds for rockets and cats for space planes.  Finch are simple SRB sub orbital ships, Sparrow are 1.25m orbital ships, Puma and Panther are Mk1 and Mk2 space plane designs with Panther engines.  When I unlock new parts I add Mk II , III, etc designations as I update the design.  Then I add specifics.  Sparrow 4 II Mun is a 1.25m orbital ship, 4 passengers + pilot, second generation, designed to go to the Mun.

Permanent ships are named after game... things.  Gnome and Dryad are landers, Undine and Syphid are transfer ships from Kerbin to Mun/Minmus, all mana spirits from the game Secret of Mana.  Stations are espers/summons from Final Fantasy (Ramuh, Shiva, Iffrit, Tritoch, Terrato) and I recently started naming my fuel tankers after spells in Final Fantasy (Fira, Thundara, Blizzaga)

I also name mine by craft.  "Untitled Space Craft" is common.

Yeah, there's no real naming scheme for me.  I usually name my craft after I use it for a while.  For example, I have a career game with a very reliable, low tech 2-stage rocket designed to rescue one kerbal from LKO.  It has performed over 50 rescues, so I named it the "Kerbhauler".