Developer Insights #10 – Collisions

Intercept Games

• KSP Team

Hi, my name is Michael Dodd, and I’m the Physics Engineer on the KSP2 development team. Before joining KSP2, I studied fluid mechanics using supercomputers for 8 years and obtained a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering. My goal is to add physical realism to the game while keeping the physics simulation robust, efficient, and scalable.

One of the problems we’ve had to solve was the ability to accurately detect and resolve collisions at orbital velocities of 10 kilometers per second or more. Collisions in KSP can be grouped into two main categories: (i) collisions with static objects like terrain and buildings and (ii) collisions with dynamic objects, like vessels. I want to tell you about some of the work we have been doing to improve both.

KSP is special—and challenging from an engineering perspective—because gameplay occurs over a vast range of length scales. Players may want to travel lightyears across the galaxy to a distant celestial body and then perform an orbital rendezvous that requires millimeter precision. Computers have limited precision to represent these distances, and when it comes to rendering objects to the screen or performing rigid body physics simulations, we are limited to 32 bit floating-point numbers. Floating point numbers are ideal for representing numbers spanning multiple orders of magnitude. However, floating-point numbers are distributed unevenly on the number line. As their value, or distance from the origin, increases, so does the difference between successive values.