Docking Port Orientation

So, I apologize for all of the questions over the last 2 days.  I'm going through some new stuff that I've never done in KSP before, thanks in large part to the Kerpollo Challenge.  I mean, what's the point of playing if you don't get better, right?  And, at least for me, I can't get better if I don't push myself.

Anyhow, I've come to the part about using docking ports.  And my question isn't how to dock; I've gone through the in-game tutorial, and I've got MJ installed to help me.  No, my question is about the orientation of the docking port as it relates to both the lander and the main ship.  As an example, let's use the Clamp-o-Tron Docking Port Jr., primarily because this is the one I have access to:

Clamp-O-Tron_Jr_Revamped.png

Ok, so what you see there is the part as it looks when you click on it in the VAB.  This will be easy for me to describe because this is how I see the part when I go to use it.  I know I need 2 of these, one on the lander and one on the main ship.  So that's not the issue.  What I'm having trouble identifying is how to orient this on each piece.  If we make the assumption that the lander is above the current image, what is the correct orientation for the port?  Does it go into the lander the way it shows there, or do I need to rotate it so the shiny ring that is currently on top is pointed to the bottom?  And then that feeds into orientation for the second port that sits on the main ship.  Is the shiny ring pointing up at the lander, or pointing down towards the main ship?

I know that this must seem like a basic question, and again I apologize if it is.  But I can't seem to figure this out on my own, and I can't seem to find the answer anywhere else.  Of course, once I get the answer it'll be all "Well, that was so simple I should have known it".  But this community is great at helping people out, so I come to you all with this question.

Thanks in advance!