Orbiting the Sun

Hi Kerbonauts.

I'm having an absolutely terrible time finding information, that I can understand, on how to get to a low Kerbol orbit.

I can get get as far as getting my periapsis around about where I want it and after several redesigns to add more DV I'm struggling. I haven't been slingshotting or anything like that. Just standard up and achieve LKO then burn to escape then lowering the orbit in the usual manner.

I have most technologies unlocked to just a few steps before the last stage. I'm using the 2.5 meter stuff.

I'm still relatively new to the game. Attached screeshot of where I'm at with the rocket. Ignore about 850 of that delta V as its on the satellite itself.

Any tips would be extremely useful, thanks all.

Screenshot https://imgur.com/a/mOYAQIx

31 minutes ago, PappaKerbal said:

burn to escape then lowering the orbit

Consider combining these steps. One big burn near Kerbin (such that you exit Kerbin's sphere of influence going in the opposite direction to Kerbin's own velocity) is more efficient than splitting it up.

19 hours ago, HebaruSan said:

Consider combining these steps. One big burn near Kerbin (such that you exit Kerbin's sphere of influence going in the opposite direction to Kerbin's own velocity) is more efficient than splitting it up.

I've been burning behind Kerbin increasing apoapsis out toward the sun. Do you mean burning like a mun exit? I also hadn't bothered with maneuver nodes as i thought it was straight forward.

I think I understand what you're saying. Treat it just like a Kerbin reentry from the mun. I'll give it another shot shortly! Cheers.

On 3/15/2022 at 1:23 PM, HebaruSan said: