Apollo history discussion from SLS thread

SunlitZelkova

I wanted to reply but at that point it was becoming OT so I made this thread. Posts from the SLS thread can also be moved here since it looks like it is getting OT over there as well @adsii1970

Not really. As an American historian by trade, I can tell you he was very much into space exploration and even wanted to fully fund NASA even more than it was. His love of space and space exploration comes from a couple of things - he was an avid reader of what we now consider the "classic" authors of science fiction. To be quite honest, and from what we know about his interests in space exploration, if he were alive today, he would probably support the surge of private corporate development of space travel as a means to make it more practical and affordable.

I'm sure many a president, senator, and representative has had passion regarding spaceflight in their personal life. That doesn't automatically translate to policy action though.

That's not to say Kennedy would have somehow been worse. I just think it would have been similar to what Johnson did. Perhaps if JFK was more of a space advocate for personal reasons, it could be said Johnson was motivated by the economic benefits it brought to the south (including to Texas).

By the way, I'll bet Johnson would be on the side of SLS and against Commercial Crew if he were alive today lol.