Grand Tour throughout the Real Solar System [Video]

xendelaar

I have been wanting to perform a grand tour of the real solar system for quite some time now. After weeks of trial and error, I finally built a craft that is capable of visiting every planet and moon in the solar system. It was quite a challenge to begin with!

Performing the mission itself took me several weeks, and it was an amazing experience that presented many interesting challenges along the way.
After completing the grand tour, I thought it would be nice to make a small recap of the experience. That's why I created this video.

Since the journey was so long, I decided to chop the video up into several episodes (maybe two or three). Mainly because video editing takes a massive amount of time, and I'm not really good at it, haha.

I hope you enjoy the video. If you have any questions regarding the craft or journey, I would love to answer them.

Suggestions regarding the video, editing and or music are always welcome. I love to learn to improve my skills.

SOME ADDITIONAL HIGHLIGHTS

The inner planets (which are actually called the inferior planets) were one of the biggest hurdles I faced during the challenge. Due to Venus' thick atmosphere, I couldn't easily refuel on the planet. Otherwise, I would have needed an insanely large ship. Additionally, Venus does not have a small moon where we can land and refuel. So, the only way I could visit Venus and Mercury was through dedicated and disposable landers.