Single Stage to Orbit in 1.7

Hello All,

In 1.5 I had a great little space plane I called the Chariot.

However, it seems 1.7 has changed enough where the design no longer works if I recreate it EDIT: There is not enough fuel to reach orbit. Does anyone have a good starting place for a single stage to orbit space plane?

My thought is if I can make a fairly light one like my original chariot, I can refuel it in orbit using the refueling mod, dock it with a mother ship, bring it to Duna, land, get back into Orbit, re-dock, and bring her home again.

But this all hinges on being able to recreate a ship like my original Chariot (Screenshots from orbital 1.5 model):

[ATTACH=CONFIG]34405[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]34406[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]34407[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]34408[/ATTACH]

Thanks for anyone who answers! This is my first time trying to build a space plane since 1.5

Edited by Zalack

I have no examples right now, but for me, the usual starting point in building an SSTO spaceplane is building the smallest SSTO vertical-launch rocket I can, with an inert payload equivalent to however many jet engines and wings i think i will need. This puts a rough upper limit on the fuel mass I will need, since the vehicle does not benefit as much from lift or the efficiency of jets. I try not to have any more jet engines or wings than necessary to give decent initial lift  for a small spaceplane such as yours, only one jet engine is probably necessary.

Doesn't work in what way? Not enough fuel for orbit? Or something else, like it cannot be controlled.

Sorry about leaving that out: It does not reach orbit. It controls decently when I have the mechjeb kill rotation on.

In 0.16 there was a lot of nerfing of parts as part of the introduction of bigger parts. However due to a fuel bug, some of that was masked. But with that fixed, it is just harder now in 0.17.