I need help to figure out how to land on the Mun.

Im pretty new at this, but im starting to understand more and more of how things work.

Quick runtrought of what i know how to do sofar.

Build a rocket that works.

Make it out in orbit around kerbal.

Change the size of my orbit.

Intercept the Mun orbit.

Now to what i do not know how to do yet.

How to actualy get into a path to land on the Mun. Everytime i get close, i dont have enogh fuel to slow down enough i think. Ending up in a orbit around the sun.

Short overview of what i need to know. What direction do i need to come from? Towards the direction of the mun's orbit? Or the back folowing the mun's orbit. Wil the mun gravity pull me towards it? Is there any trick to get close without having to use so much fuel? I usualy end up running out, before i can actualy think about doing a landing. I tried adding more fuel tanks, but it gets to heavy, and i end up the same way either way. My basic rocket is as follows. Comandpod, decupler, advanced sas, 3liquid fuel, engine, decupler, 4 fueltanks, engine. Around the botom stage i added 6 long solid fuelboosters to get it off the ground. I know there is no way to land this rocket on the mun. But i want to learn how to get in the right path before i add the parts i need to make it land. Lets just call it a test mission:) And please, i do not know many technical terms yet, so to prevent a whole bunch of questions from me to figure out what every word meen, please keep it as simple as posible:)

1) When you intercept the Mun's SOI, the first thing to do is to raise or lower your Pe so that you orbit at something between 50 to 80km. You can orbit the Mun prograde or retrograde, it doesn't matter.

2) When you reach your Pe, burn retrograde to circularize your orbit around the Mun.

3) When you are ready land, burn retrograde to deorbit.