Developer Insights #19 - Try, Fail, Try Again...and Again

Intercept Games

• KSP Team

Developer Insights #19 - Try, Fail, Try Again...and Again 

The QA Dev blog

KerbalPortraits_Darrin.png

Who are you??

My name is Darrin, and I’m the new Director of QA here at Intercept Games.   I’m new to the Intercept team (I joined a week before the KSP2 launch…) but I’m not new to QA.  I’ve been doing software testing since the early 90s and I worked at Visio/Microsoft for 17 years and then at Amazon for the last several years (most recently as a founding member of the Luna game streaming service).   I’m an old-school hardcore gamer - I’ve been playing since I had Bards Tale on my Commodore 64, and my Xbox gamer score is 150,000+ and I don’t pad that with those silly games to just farm achievements!  I’m doing my best to learn KSP2 as fast as I can, and just so happen to sit directly next to Nate, and I’ve received the rarely given “high five” that I will cherish always.

Please contact Private Division Customer Support for any game breaking issues such as hard crashes: Submit a request – Private Division Support . But, if you are posting about an issue on the Discord, the Forums, or even on Reddit, on the more data we have the better (aka in the Specs discussion in Discord, you’ll want to post your detailed specs info!) 

Bugs and Stuff

Running into an issue is frustrating; I feel your pain. Trust me when I say, bugs drive us just as crazy as they do you (honestly probably more, because we need to retry them over, and over, and over!)   But when you find an issue that is important enough to post about – you can do it one of 2 ways:

A. “This game doesn’t work!  I can’t play!!” 
(end of message)

Or

B. “This game doesn’t work, here is some info and specific steps of what I was doing – please fix it!!” 
(adds a bunch of information we can work with)