Newbie moon problem.

Xetalim

I recently started playing KSP and i watched scott manley's videos about orbiting.

I managed to get into orbit but..

My fuel ran out.

I quite want to get to kerbin's moon but i cant go there without fuel..

So i actually want a good design that can go to kerbin's moon.

Can anybody help?

Don't worry, it took me about a month to learn to get into orbit, and yet another to get something on the Mun.

And yes, minmus is easier, and if your cocky enough, you could try going to Eve first, because you can just do a parachute descent instead of using engines.

But I'd advise minmus. :D

The reason some say you should go to the Mun first is two reasons:

1. It has no inclination, so you only have to worry about two dimensions.

2. It is closer to Kerbin (less DV to get up to its orbit, more to land there though)

It is easier to get to the Moon/Mun, but harder to land on, and it is harder to get to Minmus (and back), but it is easier to land on. :) So it's your choice whether you want to make a heavy stage to get you there, or a heavy stage to land you.

And welcome :)

I built a rather large shuttle that can get to minimus or the mun and back. I have installed a mod called mech jeb and flight engineer. Mech Jeb is a semi auto pilot system that while you still need to put in the information but it will allow you to relatively take off or land on its own. This isn't always true because it isn't always perfect. It is however leagues ahead of me.

I really only use flight engineer to keep track of my total delta V left, and it helps with building rockets that can take off, and have enough delta V to get places.