License Selection Guide

Majiir

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer. Take this advice at your own risk.

Addons and third-party tools posted on the KSP network must include a license. A license spells out what other people can do with your work, whether they have to give you credit, whether they can modify your work, et cetera. You don't have to apply for a license; you can just pick one and stick it on your work. What follows is a short and very much incomplete guide to selecting a license.

Ugh, I don't want to deal with this right now!

Hang on! Just stick the phrase All Rights Reserved somewhere in your download and your forum thread. This allows you to retain all relevant rights to your work, and grants no rights to anyone else. You can always change this to a more permissive license later, so be sure to come back and read the other options.

I don't care. Do whatever you want!

Are you sure? You can release your work into the public domain, which means anyone can use your work for any purpose. This means someone could modify your work, sell it, or use it to develop nuclear weapons - all without giving you any credit! If you're okay with all that, you can use something like the CC0 Public Domain Dedication, the comical WTFPL or simply mention that you release your work into the public domain.

Well, I'd like to get credit for my work.

At this point, it becomes important whether you're licensing software or some other work like art assets. The Creative Commons licenses aren't recommended for software, and some licenses are specialized for software. If your addon consists of both art and software, you should probably license them separately.