[Tutorial] Animated Landing Leg w/ Suspension

BahamutoD

Animated Landing Leg w/ Suspension Tutorial

This is a quick tutorial for the unity setup of a landing leg with suspension.

Disclaimer: I won't be covering modelling or animation, just what you need to do to set it up in unity to get it to work properly in the game.

I assume you already know how to make a basic part. I am by no means an expert, but there's no info on how to set these up except for that one unity screenshot of the stock leg and there's a few things you need to do that you can't really tell from it. I just figured it out by combining info from that picture and the rover wheel picture, and a lot of guessing.

ingame.png

Lets get started. First model and animate your leg. I made this quick and ugly model in Blender for the sake of this tutorial.

Important: Make sure that the foot object's local Y axis is pointed down, and the X axis is pointing along it's hinge axis. This will be used by KSP to orient the foot to the ground.

blenderfoot.png

If you're modelling in Blender, you can set it to use metric units, which will make it follow the same units of measurement as KSP.

Export it as a .fbx file; make sure to check 'include animation'.

Import it to Unity. In the model tab, set the scale to 1 (it defaults at 0.1 for some reason) if you used the metric scale in Blender.

In the rig tab, set the animation type to Legacy.

In the animation tab, name the animation. I named mine "deploy".

animation.png

As usual, create a GameObject at 0, 0, 0.

Drag the model into the game object and setup the texture and whatnot.

Add a game object for the collider of the part of the leg that moves. I named the moving part "piston", and it's collider object "pistonCollider".

--If you did the animations in your 3D program, don't rename prefab objects in Unity or you will break the prefab animation.