Achieving orbit around the Mun w/MechJeb - help requested

I apologize if this is in the wrong folder. It appeared to me the most appropriate. Yes, I'm a newbie, and I'm having a lot of fun and frustration with the learning curve.

Since I am new to the game, I am using MechJeb to get over the learning curve. I am trying to send a probe to the Mun, but I am failing once I get there. The first probe crashed into the planet, and the second ended up in a slingshot to deep space. Part of my problem is fuel supplies, and part of my problem is working the MechJeb interface when I get to the Mun and not knowing how to establish an orbit there.

Here is what I'm doing. Tell me where I'm going wrong, if you can. There is something I am missing, or perhaps I'm over-correcting things.

1) Launch and establish a stable orbit around Kerbin. I aim for 200km, and then I use MechJeb to circularize and bring my eccentricity to essentially zero. I hope to have enough fuel left at this point to make the trip successfully.

2) I use the Maneuver Planner to set up a Hohmann transfer to the Mun. This appears to work perfectly, and I'm off in flight. I see the path intersecting with the Mun and a fishhook path establishing the flyby. There is also a little circle that says "Encounter". I don't know what that means.

3) When I get close to the encounter point, I set the "Fine tune closest approach to target". However, if I am already in the SoI of the Mun, I cannot select it as a target, and the Maneuver Planner requires it.

Now comes the problem. I'm within the Mun's SoI. I'm flying close by, or sometimes not that close. I want to establish an orbit. What do I do? I can't set MechJeb to circularize because it goes all wacky. It's like it is trying to orbit Kerbin again. Maybe I'm not close enough. But it's frustrating the hell out of me when it says "This maneuver requires a target" and I can't select the Mun as a target to conduct the maneuver.

Help!