Help! Mk 16 parachute always overheats on reentry

Hi

I'm a novice, so please bear with me. I have progressed to the point where I can get into orbit (albeit in an inefficient, non-circular orbit with a high apoapsis - still trying to work out how to get into a near circular LEO of about 100km). However, no matter how shallow my re-entry, the mk16 parachiute always overheats and is destroyed on re-entry.

How do I renter successfully with just a mk16, which is all that's available to me at present?

If the parachute is destroyed when you try to deploy it, JebKerboom has your solution.

If the parachute overheats and gets destroyed even before you attempt to stage it, then that's very odd because it usually shouldn't happen unless you are reentering nose-first :P

Do you carry a heatshield? If not, I recommend you try one. Also, make sure the parachute isn't in the airstream. Reenter butt-first and turn SAS off, let the capsule orient itself.

If you right click on the chute it will indicate whether it is safe to deploy or not. All of the chutes have been made very fragile and can't be deployed reliably above 260m/s or 500m/s for drogue chutes. If you've accidentally deployed the chute in space or in the upper atmosphere right click on the chute and set the pressure to above 0.5 atmospheres and it should deploy when you're low and slow.

...and actually, KSP lies about 'the parachute destroyed due to heat' - it's all about speed, the rest doesn't matter. If you drop a 4kg probe core on the huge parachute and open it at 400m/s, it will get destroyed too, even though there's no way for this kind of weight to destroy it in real life.

Tks for that - I am aware of the 300 m/s limit, but that's not my problem. The unopened Mk16 parachute fails BEFORE I slow enough to use it!!!