Interview with Jeb - first Kerbal in orbit around Mun

iMAniaC

I started playing KSP roughly a week ago. I started out as a total newbie and jumped into Career mode with close to zero research. This is kind of how it went, presented as an interview with Jeb.

We're here with a Kerbal who does not need introduction; he is the only Kerbal that has ever been in space; Jebediah Kerman! (Accompanied by a KSC PR Liaison). So, Jeb, you recently orbited Mun, and can you tell us, what is the first step in achieving that?

Jeb: Well, first, you have to get into an orbit around Kerbin and then, when Mun is approximately at 45° of your target apoapsis, you gun the throttle and hope--

Wait, wait, hang on. You're saying you went to Mun with only a vague idea of how to do it?

Jeb: Pretty much.

PR Liaison: What Jeb is trying to say is that he knew exactly what he was doing.

This isn't the first time you have flown without using all the instruments available to you, though, is it?

Jeb: That's correct. All of the launches until we finally made a stable orbit were made without the use of SAS.

Why is that?

Jeb: No one told me that the [Command Pod] Mk 1 had SAS, so I--

PR Liaison: Jeb can assure everyone that he knows all the rockets inside out and his decision to forego the use of SAS in those crucial first flights was a completely conscious one.

Jeb: But I've used the SAS ever since I found ou--

PR Liaison: Ever since that was the most productive thing to do, yes.

Jeb: And now that I know about--

PR Liaison: - has decided to use -

Jeb: --the flight planner, it's going to be a vital part of every future mission.

Okay. But anyway, you set a course to Mun without a flight planner. Was the lack of a flight planner connected to those several flights out to Mun's orbit which did not actually orbit Mun?

Jeb: Yes.

PR Liaison: No.

Jeb: I simply mis--

PR Liaison: Those were planned flights to check out Mun's orbit without Mun actually interfering with the orbit itself.