My First Space Station

Wulfonce

I'm quite new to KSP. I have a basic understanding of the dynamics of the game but that's probably not saying much. I've run 3 missions to the Mun so far and one to Minmus, all with returns to Kerbin.

I would like to build a small space station over Kerbin and send it off to orbit the Mun. This will act as an orbital science station, that's the theory anyway. The problem is I really don't know how to go about it. I've got a few pieces stuck together so far but I'm questioning if it'll even work in the end. Perhaps you guys could look it over before I waste my time on a failed project.

The middle of the station is a Mobile Processing Lab. There's a power generating module on the bottom, and up top we have an engine with a fuel tank. The back side of the Processing Lab has another docking port which I'll attach a small Munar probe, this will be used to travel between the station and the Munar surface. There's 4 additional docking ports on the engine that I'll have to attach some sort of communication equipment to later on.

How does the Processing Lab work? Would I send the probe down to collect samples, then back up to the Processing Lab, which then processes the data and sends it back to Kerbin via Radio? I probably should have figured this out before I started building.

So am I on the right track, or leading to an inevitable failure? This is my first attempt at a station, I have no idea what I'm doing. Also, I was expecting to see an option to transfer fuel from my 2 tanks on the solar panel section, to the tank with the engine. How would I go about doing that? The tank with the engine is nearly out of fuel, the other 2 are full.

screenshot14_zps718c70bb.png

Edited by Wulfonce