Looking for physics

Adoniram

Hello Everyone,

I'm a physics PhD student from Dallas, TX.  I've been planning a rather ambitious rocket project with some friends, and it was suggested to me to check out KSP too to help with planning (currently I'm working to solve a number of difficult differential equations to plan mass vs propellant requirements).  I was hoping someone here could point me to where I could learn more about the physics taken into account in KSP, or perhaps which forum I should post my physics questions under.

Thanks!

Matt

Hello and welcome!

I would think this post would be most helpful to you:

Otherwise, this section of the forums may appeal to you more: http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/forum/44-science-spaceflight/

As for having a good idea of what KSP takes into account, you may want to visit the wiki: http://wiki.kerbalspaceprogram.com/wiki/Main_Page

Now, I am not the most science literate guy around, but I can tell you off the top of my head that the physics in KSP are much simpler than real life, although they do a good job of reproducing real hurdles of rocket science. Things you will encounter in KSP: aerodynamics/atmospheric drag and heat effects, Oberth effect, Hohmann transfers and such. Things that are especially unrealistic: clear cut sphere of influences, celestial bodies are fixed on their orbit and don't influence one another, no need to worry about wear and tear (dust, micro-meteorites, etc.) and probably more things I cannot think of at this moment.