Rockets falling over, engines dropping off, oh my!

Hi everyone,

I've been playing around with KSP for a couple of months now, but it's interesting how long the learning curve is. Although I've achieved both stable orbits and a powered landing (although I fell over... ), I still have a long way to go before I can achieve consistent results, both in terms of design and piloting.

A symptom of this that I'm finding particularly irritating is the tendency for my larger rocket designs to start listing fairly rapidly, despite having multiple beefed-up stabilisers and a symmetrical design. Sometimes I'm able to wrestle back control, but by the time that happens I've so used up so much fuel and gone through too many stages to do anything other than a sub-orbital arc.

Another problem is the seemingly inconsistent strength of parts - some of my large rockets manage to keep hold of their engines despite wobbling wuite badly on the way up, while other times the rocket takes off using its boosters - and leaves the main engine on the launch pad! o_O

I can't provide any details of the designs I'm using because little I've made so far I've considered worth saving. I'm a bit of a perfectionist. But I would appreciate some general tips from experienced builders of larger rockets. I have a large supply of custom parts, all of them awesome work by the way.

Well, leaving the rockets behind on the launch pad is because of the sticky pad bug, not anything you're doing. You can work around it by putting a decoupler under each stack that would normally rest on the ground. Stage them so that the decoupler and the engines igniting occur at the same time, and as long as you have a decent TWR, you'll lift off and be clear before your rocket exhaust makes them explode.