Quick Question About Modeling New Parts

Ok so I'm fiddling around with the idea of making some custom parts for areas of the game that (at least in my opinion) could use some help. I am an engineer by day and have extensive experience working with 3D CAD software, notably SolidWorks. I read an old post where a guy asked if it's possible to model parts in CAD, but he was referring to the AutoCAD, which is Autodesk's most basic 2D CAD software. So if I were so bold and brave as to undertake a project of making some custom parts, would I be able to model them in SW? SolidWorks has the capability to export 3D models in a variety of different file formats, but I'm not sure which ones would be required to import into blender. Could an experienced modder chime in and let me know please? The ability to do this would vastly soften my learning curve for making a mod (so long as I don't have to jump through too many hoops to make it work). Thanks!

Resident SW user here.

I do basically all of my modeling in SW, then export out as .STL for fixing up in Blender.

The main thing you gotta do, is model all curved features so that it is faceted much like it would be in a modeling program.

Use N-sided sketches for cylinders and specify the face count.

There is a lot of stuff I can cover in my workflow, but if you bring something specific up, I can explain how I do it, or how I would do it.

IElEtBx.png

XdRaLhD.jpg

Yea thats basically it. But it can be a bit of a pain in some instances, especially if you want to make spherical parts. You are forced to almost do individual lofts since you can encounter asymmetrical warping using the boundary feature.

Exporting the STL you have 2 options.

1. Model all individual solid bodies in a single part and export as a single STL. This will require you to manual split up the bodies ones imported into blender.