Chlorine Trifluoride

bsalis

That website is brilliant! :)

As a Chemistry teacher I use it occasionally when my class needs a laugh.

My favourite entry is on hexanitrohexaazaisowurtzitane (and yes, I CAN say that out loud and type it from memory . . :) )!

• 3 weeks later...

I love that site. FOOF is one of my personal favorites.

Though I also wonder why no truly suicidally depressed chemist hasn't tried to synthesize a compound that uses an N18 ring as a base, with each of the ring nitrogens having a nitro- or aza- radical hanging off of it...

Anything with that many letters in it must be dangerous.

Nah. Uroporphyrinogen decarboxylase is important. Couldn't live without it. Well...you might be able to live without it. Just need to replace it with something else that's just as awesome. *ahem*

As to the OP...that's scary. Yeah. Never, ever touching that stuff.

Though I've already learned that any chemical that doesn't follow the basic rules of high-school chemistry bonding probably has wacky, possibly very scary properties. :P

Every time I read about one of these explosive compounds to my class, I always get at least one student saying "Could you make a bomb out of it?"

The answer, quite simply, is NO.

To make a substance into an explosive, you need to make sure that it detonates when you want it to, not a moment before! Ironically, to be useful a bomb must actually be safe (a bomb the blows up in your pocket on the way to the target is no good).

The explosive chemicals on the "Things I won't work with" list are all too ticklish to be used for military or terrorist purposes. . . .

Indeed. *nods in agreement* Just look at C4, arguably one of the most successful explosives ever devised. That stuff is incredibly stable, but incredibly powerful when detonated in a very specific way. You can stomp on it, you can set it on fire and cook with it, and it won't blow-up in your face. It's about as harmful as play-dough, until you stick a detonator in it.