A Visualization of the Efffects of Elliptical and Inclined Orbits on your Transfer

I’ve been somewhat obsessed with the science behind Kerbal Space Program for some time. Disclaimer: I’m not a rocket scientist. But I enjoy browsing various webpages and wikis to learn cool things. Lately, my kick has been trying to write an interplanetary calculator in Python that accounts for incline and eccentricity in orbits. I’d like to release that someday, but as of right now it has no front-end GUI and isn’t ‘feature complete’. But it does make pretty graphs!! So I decided to stick a few pretty graphs together that show a few of the ways ‘reality’ might differ from predictions made on a circular model.

Inclination

Inclination is probably the easiest to understand. If your intercept point with the target planet is highly inclined relative to your departure planet’s orbital plane, you have to make an adjustment to raise or lower the latitude of the intercept point. Here’s a graph of latitude relative to Kerbin’s orbital plane for Moho (the most inclined orbit to date):

eSUeU.jpg

Latitude relative to Kerbin varies over the entire orbital period of the target body and is at a minimum at the ascending node and descending nodes. Coincidentally, many planets have ascending nodes at periapsis and descending nodes at apoapsis, something you will probably be targeting for an intercept point anyway.

Inclination adjustments are very expensive. Even considering Eve, a planet with an inclination of merely 2.1 degrees, an inclination change can increase your Delta V costs by almost 50%:

NLdPI.jpg

(note that in a cruel twist, the first launch window has the highest incline costs)

The cost to make an inclination change is independent of whether you are raising or lower latitude, and merely depends on magnitude, repeating with half the orbital period of the departure body. Remember that your intercept point in the target's orbit is decided by your departure planet's position.