LV-N atomic engine question

hello, im fairly new at this game and was wondering regarding interplanetary travel. it tends to require a lot of delta v so i decided to use the atomic engine which has a high isp and is therefore very fuel efficient. what im wondering though is what is the right ratio of atomic engines to fuel?

i tried a set up of 1 jumbo 64 fuel tank, a tricoupler and 3 atomic engines, but when doing maneuvers that require more than a thousand delta v, it seems to take forever and by the time im finished, i seem to be a bit far from where the maneuver node started so the accuracy seems to suffer.

i also tried a set up of 7 FL-T800 tanks each with its own atomic engine, but when going all the way to moho i found i didn't have enough fuel to return to kerbin.

i guess my question is what is the ideal ratio of atomic engines to amount of fuel carried to maximize efficacy. or rather, what do you guys use on your interplanetary ships?

Any time you are dealing with a long burn time (in excess of 10s), its best to do a 50/50 burn, that is take the estimated burn time, half it and burn at that time BEFORE the node. So say you have a 30s burn time coming up. Start burning 15s before the node. This should help.

I like to have a TWR of 0.5-0.6 when using LV-N engines: that way, I can usually fractionate long escape burns (1.6-2 km/s) in two parts.

but that's just my preference.

in general, you don't want to burn for more than 3 or 4 minutes - that is, for more than 2 minutes before and after your ejection angle.

also, I find the 50/50 rule to be quite imprecise: if you create a maneuver node and look at the expected burn time, you'll see that it slowly decreases from its original value; that's because as you burn fuel, the TWR of your ship rises.

so, I like the "3/7" rule better: given an estimated burn time per the maneuver nodes, I'll start burning at 3/7 of that time before T+, and put the remaining 4/7 after.